UniSuper proudly presents the 2018 AFR Higher Education Awards

13 Aug 2018

For the fourth year in a row, UniSuper is proud to present the annual Australian Financial Review Higher Education Awards, an initiative to highlight, to a national audience, the tremendous contribution that the higher education sector makes to Australian economic prosperity.

The awards recognise the achievements of universities, higher education providers and individuals across a range of areas which demonstrate excellence in the sector. We are excited to see so many of our university partners among the finalists!

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Tuesday 28 August during the Financial Review Higher Education Summit in Melbourne.

UniSuper is also the proud sponsor of the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises an individual with more than 25 years’ experience in higher education who has made an outstanding contribution to the sector.

As the dedicated superfund for the higher education and research sector, UniSuper is committed to supporting events that are important to our members, particularly those that publicly recognise and celebrate the significant contribution of our members and university partners.

AFR Higher Education Awards – 2018 Finalists

Community Engagement Award

  • Australian Catholic University – Kicking Goals Together
  • Deakin University – Facilitating Community Engagement through Systems Science: STICKE Software
  • La Trobe University – La Trobe Accelerator Program

Education Technology Award

  • Charles Darwin University – Projection Augmented Physical Landscapes
  • Deakin University – Deakin Genie
  • OpenLearning Global – Australian Innovation Powers Transformation of Vocational Education in Malaysia
  • University of Newscastle – Road to Birth

Emerging Leader Award sponsored by Perrett Laver

  • Deakin University – Professor Emma Kowal
  • La Trobe University – Professor Jessica Vanderlelie
  • RMIT University – Dr Kate Fox
  • The University of Melbourne – Dr Rita Hardiman

Employability Award

  • Monash University – Monash Talent
  • QUT – Real World Learning: Employability
  • University of Southern Queensland – The WiRE Program: Advancing women in rural, regional and remote enterprises
  • University of Technology Sydney – Accomplish Award Program 2017

Equity & Opportunity Award

  • Monash University – Access Monash Mentoring Cycle
  • Murdoch University – Kulbardi Aboriginal Centre Academic Pathways
  • The University of Western Australia – Fairway UWA
  • University of Adelaide – Children’s University Australia

Facilities Innovation Award

  • Bond University – The conversion of physiology and anatomy laboratories into digital learning facilities
  • Deakin University – Enabling Effective Cloud and Located Learning through Deakin University’s RIOT Lab
  • Monash University – Monash University: Learning and Teaching Building
  • RMIT University – Sustainable Urban Precincts Program

Industry Engagement Award sponsored by Deloitte

  • La Trobe University – Autonomous Shuttle Initiative (Autonobus)
  • Swinburne University of Technology – Swinburne Siemens Partnership
  • The University of Sydney – Design Strategy program
  • UNSW Sydney – The Maker Games

International Education Award

  • Deakin University – Building High Calibre Research Capability in India: DIRI Program
  • Monash University – IITB-Monash Research Academy: A Model for Australia-India Collaboration
  • RMIT University – Developing the Next Generation of Culturally Competent Leaders
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia – International Immersions: Recognising Opportunities

Learning Experience Award

  • Deakin University – Innovative Learning in the Centre For Advanced Design and Engineering Training (CADET)
  • RMIT University – RMIT University Student Learning Adviser Mentors (SLAMs) Program enhancing learning experience
  • The University of Sydney – Investing the Future
  • UNSW Sydney – UNSW Sydney Hero Program

Find out more about the AFR Higher Education Awards.